Every single time.

Spinning is life. Have you ever gone to a spin class? They simultaneously tear you down and build you up and it is great. This will be my third quarter of spin and I find myself going three times a week. I’ve made friends with the instructor and I’ve even made friends with a fellow attendee as we have shared interests in the form of being pushed to our limits, sweating like hell and feeling a high unlike any other.

I remember when I first started spinning. I don’t know what made me sign up – maybe it was all of those celebrities that swear by SoulCycle or maybe I just needed a new challenge – but I am so thankful that I took the plunge. I’ve found a workout (aside from running) that makes me chant the mantra “Train like a beast, look like a beauty” so intensely that you would think it’s the only sentence my brain knows. Spinning takes away the grime of a night out that resulted in one too many drinks and a few slices of pizza. Why you may ask? Because despite the fact that I may have gone to bed at 2AM, I’m up at 7:30 getting dressed and on my bike by 7:45 to race my butt to the studio – where I’ll be riding for the next forty-five minutes. It helps me feel productive. And it’s so early in the morning that sometimes I forget that I’ve worked out that day. Which means that after work when I’m trying to figure out whether or not I should drag myself to the gym or go for a run, I’m gratified by the fact that I’ve already done my due diligence.

I’ve crafted a list of Reasons Why Spinning is Good for the Soul:

5. It helps you sleep better – Because I work during the day and have meetings at night, the only time I can really go is in the morning. I’m definitely not a morning person. I enjoy staying up late (though it’s getting harder to keep my eyes open) but since I’m spinning 3x a week (MWF), I have to make sure that I get at least seven hours of sleep to get me through the day. This means that I’m always in bed by 12 to start my drift to dreamland.

4. It makes you a Morning Person – Did I mention that I’m not a morning person? Because seriously y’all, I’m not. I will chose sleeping in over breakfast – and I LOVE breakfast food! But when I spin I have to be up early and when I’m showering after class I feel alive and awake, ready for work. I’m also typically high off of endorphins so not only am I awake, but I’m also happy to be going into the office after a challenging bike ride.

3. It helps you drink water – I don’t know if any of y’all have spun before but a good teacher ensures that the water bottle you’ve brought with you is empty by the end of class. I have a 36oz Nalgene bottle and when we’re cooling down I’m taking my last sweet sips. It’s great because even if I forget to drink a ton of water during the rest of the day (it happens!), I know that I started the day off right!

2. You’re always improving – In a spin class you’re always challenging yourself. I take a course that’s interval-based which means that I’m always pushing myself to my limits in my journey for strength. Spin builds endurance and strengthens glute and quad muscles which help me run faster and farther. It’s a win-win situation. Plus I can take all of my stress from work and life out on the bike, which makes me a healthier person over all.

1. Endorphins make you happy, and happy people just don’t shoot their husbands – El oh el. I hope you read that and had a good laugh. But I’m being partially serious here – endorphins make you happy and happy people live healthy, wealthy (wealth is more than just money) lives. I always feel good knowing that I’ve worked out for the day and in addition I feel a lot less stressed. Happiness is key and no one can make us truly happy but ourselves, hence why we must take the steps to improve our mental well being.

So if those aren’t enough reasons why spin is amazing (and why I continue to wake up at an absurd hour to kill myself on a stationary bike three times a week), then I don’t know what will convince you. And granted, spinning isn’t going to be everybody’s jam or cup of tea but you’ll never know until you try it. And Pro Tip: Make friends with the teacher/coach because there’s nothing more motivating than coming to class on Monday after you skipped class on Friday to sleep in and having the teacher ask you where you were. A wave of guilt and disappointment crashes over you and you promise, knowing damn well it’s one of the few promises you’ll remember to keep, that you’ll be there all three days that week (and every other week unless you become ill or have to go out of town for some reason).

Motivation comes in many forms y’all – find yours.

xxMorgan